The Weight of Glory

The Weight of Glory and Other Addresses
by C.S. Lewis

“Lewis combines a novelist’s insights into motives with a profound religious understanding,” says The New York Times of C.S. Lewis’ The Weight of Glory and Other Addresses. First published in England under the title Transposition and Other Addresses, this small but mighty volume received its first U.S. printing in 1949. In his preface Lewis wrote, “This book contains a selection of the too numerous addresses which I was induced to give during the late war (World War II) and the years that immediately followed it. All were composed in response to personal requests and for particular audiences, without thought of subsequent publication.”
According to the cover notes, the collection of nine Lewis addresses shows the “beloved author and theologian bringing hope and courage in a time of great doubt. ‘The Weight of Glory,’ considered by many to be Lewis’ finest sermon of all, is an incomparable explication of virtue, goodness, desire, and glory. Also included are ‘Transposition,’ ‘On Forgiveness,’ ‘Why I Am Not a Pacifist,’ and ‘Learning in War-Time,’ in which Lewis presents his compassionate vision of Christianity in language that is both lucid and compelling.”


Popular posts from this blog

Gay Adoption

The Womb, Being a Woman and Baby Loss

Holding the Snake by His Head